A mother’s letter

This is the first time that i really get the chance to say goodbye.
In such a long time, i’ve kept everything inside, not sharing my thoughts, not grieving, not talking. About you, what it felt when i saw the first sign that you are real, that i finally get the chance to nurture another soul, an angel for me and your dad.

the excitement that finally, after a long wait, i get my chance to be a mom. I get to feel what others kept talking about, of what it’s like to grow and care for someone that i helped bring into this world.

But no matter how hard i tried to keep you, how much i truly wanted to fight and be strong and hold on, the odds are against my favor.

Maybe we are not meant to meet yet, maybe, I’m not that ready, maybe i was too afraid, maybe it was my fault.

I struggled for a very long time, i fight the longing, i retreated to myself, succumbed to the doubt. A lot of questions, a lot of pain, a lot of loathing. 

I don’t think I’ll ever be able to forget. every baby i see, will always bring you back, they will always remind me that once upon a time, i had you, for twelve weeks. the short weeks, i got to experience how it is to expect, to be afraid, to be strong and hold on tightly. So, to you, my baby, my million thanks.
Love,

Mom

One thought on “A mother’s letter

  1. Pingback: A mother’s letter – sofie's thoughts

Leave a Reply

